The Ulmil Pavilion stands in Central district, Pyongyang. It was first built in mid 6th century in the Koguryo dynasty (The first feudal state in Korea which existed from B.C. 277 to A.D. 668) as a northern commanding pavilion of the inner wall of the Pyongyang Walls. It was rebuilt in 1714.
It commands an extensive picturesque view. The gorgeous colorful painting is well becoming with the surrounding scenery. Its spring scene was counted as one of the eight beauty spots of Pyongyang so called “Ulmilsangchun-welcome spring of Ulmil.
The Ulmil Pavilion is now a good recreational resort for the working people climbing the Moran Hill.