The 29th Mangyongdae Prize International Marathon was held here to mark the birth anniversary of President Kim Il Sung.

Marathoners from the DPRK, China, Morocco, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Ethiopia and Uganda and many amateurs from various countries and regions competed in marathon, half marathon, 10 km and 5 km races.

Its opening ceremony took place at the Kim Il Sung Stadium on Sunday.

Present there were Choe Hwi, vice-chairman of the Central Committee of the Workers’ Party of Korea and chairman of the National Sports Guidance Committee, Vice-Premier Jon Kwang Ho, Pak Hun, minister of Construction and Building-Materials Industry who is chairman of the DPRK Marathon Association, officials concerned, Pyongyangites and foreign guests.

An opening address was made and the games began.


Citizens from all walks of life, youths and students cheered the players along the courses.

Men and women players of the DPRK won gold, silver and bronze medals in the marathon and half-marathon.

In the marathon of amateurs, the first place was taken by Tibbs Hugh Samuel (man) of Britain and Andersen Stine Laura Muldbak (woman) of Denmark, the second place by Sven Thelin (man) of Sweden and Tai Hsiheng (woman) of China’s Taipei, and the third place by Kelly Daniel Patrick (man) of Britain and Dideriksen Line Rejkjaer (woman) of Denmark.


At the closing ceremony after the games, cups, medals, diplomas and certificates were awarded to the successful runners and amateurs.